Forums

$60,000 for New Skill Thread is locked

Quick find code: 14-15-456-66267927

Elion Z

Elion Z

Posts: 541 Steel Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
10 years ago, I was a poor student who couldn't afford to pay membership. Heck, for the last 2 years I've paid for Premier Club with gp (Bonds). Now I have $60,000 to spend on Bonds as I prepare for 2023.

I've worked hard to be in a position where I've spent $5000-$10000 dollars on different hobbies. But RS is not a hobby to me. RS is way more. I've spent over 10 years in this game. It has taught me different values, but also some harsh truths. No hobby takes my time, or gives me entertainment like Runescape.

A lot of people will think I'm crazy, but this is something I've wanted for a long time. When I look back in 20 years, I will have spent money on way stupider things.

More and more players have total spends over $1000 on RS. Do you regret your total spend on RuneScape?

30-Nov-2022 17:46:47

Dilbert2001
Jun Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 30,311 Sapphire Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I might have spent $750 real money on Jagex's games since 2001. I only spent on membership from 2001 until An Important Message From Mod MMG brought Bond MTX into RS3 and OSRS. Since the, I got my membership and related offers such as Premier Club with Bonds MTX I bought with in game gp.

The things is, even with $15 a month membership, it is already $180 a year. And in 5 years or so we will have to pay close to $1,000 already. I am sure plenty of players are paying such subscription for a lot of games and have spent well over $1,000 already, only that their $15 a month gives them more than 2 games. I doubt many of them regret spending a mere $1,000.