Forums

~X~OSRS: Xeric~X~

Quick find code: 341-342-12-66078995

Lego Miester
Nov Member 2023

Lego Miester

Posts: 35,342 Sapphire Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
As a lore nut, I recently started playing Old School and noticed they're building a story of their own. In the far off continent of Zeah, there was once a king: King Shayzien VII. As you play through the novice quest series themed after the five houses, you learn that king returned from the dead as none other than the evil wizard Xeric, who created the lizardmen as servants, tried to subjugate all of Great Kourend, and worst of all, is probably still out there somewhere due to creating a new font of dark magic to exploit for immortality.

...But that's about where it leaves off. The rest delves into speculation based on the pieces scattered around the continent. Mainly:

the contents of the completed Kharedst's Memoirs https://oldschool.runescape.wiki/w/Kharedst%27s_memoirs

the Ancient Letter https://oldschool.runescape.wiki/w/Ancient_letter

the mysterious voice that calls out from Xeric's new copycat altar https://oldschool.runescape.wiki/w/Mysterious_Voice

the Shayzien crypts, with one intact crypt belonging to Camorra Shayzien, right next to one broken one with Xeric's logo on it.
Headcanon Haven, where everything is made up and the points don't matter.
OSRS Lore: Xeric
Slepe Tight - Slepe Lore

27-Jan-2019 00:04:02

Lego Miester
Nov Member 2023

Lego Miester

First theory: Xamphur is King Kharedst IV, the father of the girl who wrote Kharedst's Memoirs.

As you read through the memoirs, it becomes abundantly clear he's acting strangely and paranoid, and he gave her some sort of rose-shaped amulet radiating dark magic. If that wasn't enough, the flask he's been drinking from has an "X" on it! It doesn't make any sense for him to be Xeric, but Xeric's right hand man? Perhaps, and perhaps an important piece in how Xeric managed to regain strength as of recent years.