Forums

Future of RS Q&A Transcript

Quick find code: 254-255-222-64213144

Mrag Groz

Mrag Groz

Posts: 6,463 Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Here we are again, or is it still? I'm glad you're planning to move the lore along. It would be nice if the whole world moved forward, rather than just the background stories.

The craft skill system needs a complete overhaul. It needs it now. It doesn't need to be perpetually on people's top ten lists, waiting for another half-dozen complete overhauls of the graphics and mechanics. If you do that, then you'll always be chasing newer games.

This isn't nostalgia. When I started playing RS, in 2001, I was over 30. I knew very well what it would take to make me want to play such a game. There's a reason that I wasn't playing video games before RS, and it's the same reason I haven't been playing them since.

You lost the balance between crafting and combat. You replaced it with subsuming crafting under combat. You made the path of least resistance, for wealth generation, all about combat. In many cases, you even made gathering more streamlined through combat than through non-combat.

I have nothing against combat per se. In fact, if you're playing a tabletop game once a week, then that probably is the best focus. When you move that into a persistent world, then there should be more balance.

By shifting that balance, you created an imbalance in player focus. Competing for resources is expected in an MMOG; but, the distribution of desirable resources should be highly dispersed, not highly nucleated. To carry out that level of nucleation, you've had to continually make high-value combat drops more rare, and more likely to be distributed across a higher number of combatants.