Forums

Off Topic Chat Lounge Thread is sticky

Quick find code: 23-24-312-63626936

Dragonite Lv

Dragonite Lv

Posts: 26 Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Hello Runescapers! :D Whilst I'm not exactly new to RS altogether (was addicted as a young teen in the earlier 2000s), I am new to this "RS3" if that's what it's called - better graphics, more features etc. At first I was reluctant to rejoin because I missed the familiarity of what is now Old School Runescape, but I actually prefer RS3 now. It really is a fantastic game as a whole, that cannot be denied. I just felt like I should introduce myself before I butt in with a question. P.S. Please excuse my bad display avatar picture. :P

So! Without further ado, here's the question: what should I study at uni? I'm really, really, really stuck on this. I've given it more than enough thought but I just still don't know. I've applied to study Zoology but I don't necessarily want a career relating to it. I'm not even sure which career I want. I have had quite a strong interest in games since being introduced to Pokemon on the Game Boy Advance SP (Fire Red was the best), The Sims for PC and PS2 (Crash Bandicoot, Ratchet & Clank, Gallop Racer 2, GTA etc). So this makes me feel that maybe I would enjoy a career in gaming. I'm not an outgoing person at all, but I think I am easy to get along with if that makes sense. I don't like parties and big crowds, but as an introvert I adore deep conversations relating to topics of mutual interest. But I'm scared that I'll find it boring, and I don't really know exactly what each possible career in gaming involves.
Could anyone here provide a really quick (one/two sentence long worth) explanation for some gaming careers? Or maybe someone here has/is studying a game-related degree? I've considered game design and development but one thing I'm petrified of is presentations and I'm guessing that would come into play with these roles.