Forums

Goals for a More Social RS3

Quick find code: 48-49-217-66259565

LadyAirili
Apr Member 2022

LadyAirili

Posts: 6 Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
While it's unrealistic to believe that RS3 will ever overtake OSRS in popularity, RS3 has an incredibly special place in my heart. I've been playing since 2008 and I remember a time when players talked and spent time together a lot more outside of the monotonous skill grind or PVM encounters.

Over the last few days, I've tried socializing more on RS3 W2 and I've gotten some pretty mixed results. I met a player who still does drop parties. I chatted with a new player who seemed to really be enjoying the game. But most of my interactions were met with silence. Even my current guild, which has on average 475/500 players can have a great deal of radio silence. This is to be expected, of course. A lot of players AFK and many features in the game enable that. There are also players who struggle with being comfortable in social interactions, even online; and that's completely understandable.

Still, I think one of the reasons RS3 struggles so much in popularity in comparison to OSRS (besides the fact that there is so many features that it can feel overwhelming to even seasoned players) is that there isn't as much of a sense of community as there was in older iterations of the game. I'm sure there are a multitude of things that could be done to fix this, ranging from adding fresh coats of paint to some skills or replacing dead features in-game with new activities, but neither of those are things I, as a player, have control over and depend entirely upon Jagex themselves.