Forums

Happy Tenth Anniversary OSRS

Quick find code: 317-318-966-66275228

Zeffirino
Jan Member 2023

Zeffirino

Posts: 394 Silver Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I can't believe it's been 10 years since the Old School servers were brought back! I certainly didn't return on day 1 and wish I got word about it back then!

Now that its been 10 years, how do you guys feel about everything that's happened in the past decade? I'm a student of history and I'm no different with that mindset when it comes to the game so I want to take this as an opportunity to hear and share stories as well as every ones hopes for the future. :)

Discuss away!

23-Feb-2023 05:06:51

Mjurr

Mjurr

Posts: 5 Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
OSRS is still going strong in comparison to RS3, It’s great. I think some people are worried about the updates that are being rolled out. Purists want it to stay the same way, some people want it to be updated. Personally I’d like a HD option.

23-Feb-2023 07:48:34

Dilbert2001
Jun Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 30,201 Sapphire Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Happy 10th Birthday OSRS!

If you want to talk about the history of OSRS, I know pretty well about the differences then and now.

Community involvements are grossly different. OSRS now is all about content creators. We can easily see this with today's OSRS (supposedly) big 10th Birthday livestream with all OSRS Jmods from top to bottom involved. Yet, we only had number of viewers in the 2k and 3k ranges. That's not even as many concurrent viewers as certain individual streamers and the usual phishing vids like fake quitting and DXP now live... That's also a far cry from the 20-30k viewers on events like DMM in previous years. It was just about the same (or even lower) than a regular OSRS weekly Q&A livestream.

Also missing were the usual RS2/RS3 Anniversay guests like the Gowers, Mat K, Woox and such.