Forums

Old School General Chat Lounge Thread is sticky

Quick find code: 317-318-503-65438311

Mr Crow

Mr Crow

Posts: 4,237 Adamant Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Sanotsuto said :
Had an idea I posted a while ago to mitigate losses due to downtime/DDoS, since this seems to be reoccurring, let me know what you think about it:

I am no expert in the field of computer sciences or security, so if someone is, please feel free to let me know if this idea is plausible or not.

We all know Jagex isn't capable of rollbacks, especially since the first losses were 3 days ago and no one was in the office to deal with the issue.

It's been stated before that the game saves automatically every 15 minutes (it was not made clear, however, if those saves are stored or overwrite one another).

Would it be possible to implement a script that would function to automatically shut down the servers and go back to the last server save if an unusually high and suspicious number of queries are made to the server (like in the instance of, say, a DDoS attack)?

This would prevent the need to engage in "rollbacks" as a reaction to a crashing issue, and losing 15 minutes of experience to reimburse items of those who died shouldn't be a communal outrage like losing 3 days would.

yes that is possible to do.

blizzard also does something when it comes to people hacking your account and stealing all you items by screen shotting your items what your characters have. and they also keep track of where your account has been logged in via I.P. watching. and when you send in a ticket saying your account was hacked they restore it to the last point in which they know you were in control of your account.

24-Sep-2014 18:42:49

Norne
Jan
fmod Member

Norne

Forum Moderator Posts: 76,250 Emerald Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile