Forums

A day in the life of a Jester Thread is locked

Quick find code: 254-255-501-65649267

Mod Jester

Mod Jester

Jagex Moderator Forum Profile Posts by user
Hello scapers! This is my first ever forum post so I’m a little nervous. Bear with me though as I’m hoping you’ll find my insight into Jagex life a fairly interesting one.

It’s a little difficult for me to talk about what I’m actually working on these days as it’s super secret (and super cool!). I can’t wait to say more about it but for now you’ll have to keep guessing at what that might be ;) . What I can do however is give you a brief understanding of what my day involves and why I love what I do. Lets look at a typical day based around the last major project I worked on, RuneLabs.

For those of you who don’t know I’m a front end web developer within the RuneScape web team. My primary job is to produce high quality user interfaces that are as practical as they are breathtaking. OK, slight exaggeration, but we do try to give you guys the best experiences we possibly can.

So what does Mod Jester actually get up to in his day to day life at Jagex? Lets look at a typical day developing a product like RuneLabs.

First of all I’m an early starter. I try to make it in for 8am, though it’s usually more like 10 past, when I meet my team for our informal morning tea break/catchup. Here we talk about all the important things from the night before such as ‘that ludicrous display’ and ‘why did he bring Walcott on that early?’

Once I’ve had my caffeine fix it’s off to my desk to start some work. That is once I’ve got the important things out of the way. Seeing what you guys have been discussing overnight via Twitter is always a priority and collecting my daily Treasure Hunter loot is a must. Once I’ve carried out these essentials I take a look at my workload for the day.